Dove Elixir – Nourished Shine

Hello Everyone!

Today I am going to review Dove Elixir Hibiscus and Argan Oil – Nourished Shine.

Price: 185/- for 90ml

Company Claims: Elixir is a luxurious blend of precious oils by Dove. Infused with real ingredients, it nourishes your hair from root to tip. This potent blend of oils has the power of overnight oiling in 30 minutes.

Dove Elixir – Nourished Shine is enriched with Argan oil to retain moisture in each hair fiber every time you oil your hair. Blended with Hibiscus, it lends your hair a luminous and reflective shine shield. It absorbs instantly to help rejuvenate damaged hair caused by heat, styling and environmental damage.

Dove Elixir Nourished Shine (11)

Directions for Use: New Dove Elixir can be used before cleansing for deep nourishment. It can also be applied after cleansing as a finishing touch to help style and add shine.

My Experience:

I was quite inquisite about Dove Elixir’s new range! I was thinking how an oil can do the job of overnight healing in just 30minutes?? So, I bought one of it and I will be reviewing it in the post.

Dove Elixir Nourished Shine (5)

 

Dove Elixir Nourished Shine (2) Dove Elixir Nourished Shine (4) Dove Elixir Nourished Shine (3)

Well Dove Elixir – Nourished Shine Oil comes in a glass bottle with a pump dispenser. The idea of pump dispenser is pretty cool as you need to pump only required amount of oil in your palm and there is no wastage of product. The oil is completely transparent and is very very light. One more unique attribute about this product is that you would find a dry Hibiscus flower inside the bottle! It won’t come out though, as you have the pump dispenser but it looks quite unique. Well mine, I ordered through www.purplle.com and may be while coming on the way, the fully formed hibiscus flower got shattered into small pieces inside the bottle – generally you’d find a whole hibiscus flowers and not in bits and pieces. Coming to the fragrance part, this oil smells amazing!! It is a perfumed oil and the perfume is quite mild in scent, not over powering at all and disappears after a while.

Dove Elixir Nourished Shine (6) Dove Elixir Nourished Shine (8)

 

Dove Elixir Nourished Shine (7)

On application, I observed that this oil gets absorbed pretty quickly in my hair. First I applied it at night and let it stay overnight. At morning I observed that my hair is not so greasy at all and light. I also used it once before shampooing my hair i.e. 30 minutes prior to shampooing my hair. I observed that when I washed after oiling it and letting it stay an overnight the amount of greasiness was lesser than what it was at night and I required the normal amount of shampoo to shampoo my hair. And when I shampooed my hair after applying it 30minutes prior to shampooing my hair – I required a lil bit extra shampoo (not much, but I did require lil extra shampoo). I did observe a bit of shine in my hair due to this oil – nothing extraordinary! I was disappointed! Then I also used it like a serum on my wet hair – just a drop as I didn’t want to make my hair look oily. Well, that added a bit more shine to my hair – I was quite happy as by paying this price if you don’t get the desired results, you outta get sad and disappointed!

Dove Elixir Nourished Shine (9) Dove Elixir Nourished Shine (10)

Though I don’t skip my Extra Virgin Olive Oil Massage – which I do weekly twice, I add Dove Elixir – Nourished Shine to it.

Pros of the Product:

  1. Argan Oil makes the hair smooth and shiny.
  2. The packaging is travel friendly and hygienic.
  3. Pump dispenser gives you the control of the product.
  4. It contains a blend of precious hair oils which nourish your hair pretty well.
  5. Acts as a serum on damp hair.
  6. Makes your hair tangle-free.
  7. The fragrance is amazing and yet subtle.
  8. It gets absorbed very quickly.
  9. The oil is very light and completely non-greasy.
    1. It doesn’t stain your pillow.
    2. You need very less amount of the product. So, a little goes a long way.
    3. Rinsing it off your hair is very easy.

Cons of the Product:

  1. It didn’t impart any extra shine to my hair.
  2. No permanent results, only temporary shine.
  3. Can be expensive when compared to the deliverance of the company claims.

Overall Verdict: Dove Elixir Hibiscus and Argan Oil – Nourished Shine is a good product which would both act as a nourishing hair oil as well as a serum. It gets rinsed off pretty easily, you don’t need any extra shampoo for that. It is very light and gets absorbed very quickly. You need very less amount of product, so this one bottle will last for a long time.

Rating: 2.8/5

Leave a Reply

